Thursday, May 16, 2013

Beautiful Sand Dunes

Our second day in Mui Ne begun at 4:00am. This isn't really a problem though seeing as we go to bed between 7-9 every night.
At 4:30 a Jeep would meet us outside our hotel and drive us to the infamous red and white sand dunes of Mui Ne.
We meet our driver (Air- pronounced Ay) as he roles up in the oldest army jeep you've ever seen (hey- alteast we aren't riding our bikes).
We jump in and I look around for my seat belt. Of course there isn't one. I don't know why I was surprised seeing as the jeep didn't have a speedometer or odometer either.
There are already people out walking the street- I thought they were on their way to work... Later I was informed that the restaurants and bars done shut here until dawn... So infact these over-achievers were in fact drunks. Beauty.
At any rate we start our drive to the dunes. It was actually quite nice because as soon as the sun goes down, the temperature drops 20 degrees.
Air knew his way around the roads... He knew exactly where every bump on the road was and slowed right down. Clearly he's got the lay of the land.
The idea behind leaving so early in the morning is to see the sunrise over the dunes, which are roughly 40 minutes driving from the hotel.
I'm so glad we did this. It was beautiful.
I was thinking of home- and Dad's birthday in particular. It was like Sandbanks, times a million. The sand stretched on as far as the eye could see, and the sea was the backdrop behind it.
Steve and I definitely got our workout in. We climbed up so many dunes, I could barely breath.
We even tried sand boarding, which was pretty fun- though you get a face full of sand.
We even saw someone getting married on top of one of the dunes.
It was as hot as blazes- I don't know how that girl was wearing a full wedding gown- but she did it.
There are both white and red sand dunes. Pretty self explanatory... The red sand is so vibrant though. Its literally bright orangy-red. Like PIE dirt, but more intense.
Air hadn't given us a time limit as to how long we could stay out exploring the dunes. We finally made it back to the jeep though, and we were on to the next destination on the tour. At this point he started giving us time limits- but he told us with a little smile... So it was cute.
Next we went to Fairy Stream. This stream flowed over a bed of red sand, which gave the water its orangy colour. We walked up the stream, in the middle of the jungle, for about 40 minutes and stumbled across beautiful cliffs of red sand. Words cannot do it justice- so I will have to show you photos. Needless to say it was beautiful!

After Fairy Stream and a quick stop at the fishing village viewing platform Air dropped us back off at our hotel.
We were both covered in sand- head to toe... So we went for a quick swim and then packed up all our stuff in preparation for our departure for Nah Trang.

The receptionist at Nam Hai was super cute and helpful too- and we booked us our bus and assured it would come pick us up at 12:30.
At 1:30 two motor bikes came to pick Steve and I up- to take us to the bus station.
We were so confused, but hoped on.
I didn't quite understand how this was going to work. Seeing as both Steve and I had a massive pack, and a day pack.

Then again, I should have know, based on the loads most people carry on their motorbikes, that this wouldn't have been a problem.
We wrangled the packs on, and off we were.
It was actually pretty exciting to ride the motorbikes. I would do it again for sure!

At 2 o'clock we got on the bus. Its unlike any bus I've ever been on. First of all, you have to take your shows off before you get on.
Secondly, instead of seats, there are extendable chairs that turn into beds. Its actually pretty cool and they are really comfy!
Luckily for us there was no karaoke on this bus. Rather a Vietnamese comedy playing. The comedy is still pretty annoying but I'd take it over the singing any day.

Our bus driver just pulled over on the side of the road, and got out of the bus. I'm paranoid that people are going to steal out stuff, so I look out the window to see what's going on.
What are the odds that he stands right underneath my window, whips his willy out and takes a pee?
On that note I'm going to call it a day!

Mui Ne

Have I mentioned its hot?!
I've heard that in Kingston and Pemmy it's getting a little toasty. Tash mentioned it was even over 25 degree out?
Double that, and add the most humidity you can imagine and that's what it's like here.
Every photo that Steve and I have taken has a beautiful sweaty glare to it. They are really something.
In all honesty though. This is the hottest I've ever been in my life. I can understand why people don't do much physical activity here. You'd die.
Steve and I drink piles of water, which is great, but it makes you sweat like a pig.
I could probably collect my sweat in a rain barrel, put it through my water filter, and have a continuous amount of water all day. Who needs taps.
Everyday the clothes I wear are drenched.
Every bit of me sweats- my eye lids, lashes and brows, my ears, nose, arms, legs, toes, fingers... Even my bum! I didn't know your bum could sweat. It's like sitting in a puddle every time you rest somewhere.
Couples come to Mui Ne as a romantic getaway. I don't get it.
I've never looked or felt more unattractive in my life.
Who ever told us that we need bug spray here was wrong. I smell so horrid that a mosquito wouldn't come near me with a ten-foot pole. Plus the glare off my sweaty body would probably blind any insect within eye range. So we're good.
But like I was saying. Heat + humidity + sun + sunscreen + frizzy hair= one unattractive human being.
Moving on though.
I feel so bad for Steve. Mom and Dad I know you can relate.
Mui Ne is right on the coast. The beaches are beautiful and swimming in the South China Sea is awesome. The water is like a bath though- almost too warm to be refreshing.
Steve and I woke up at 5:30 on our first day in Mui Ne, and couldn't get back to sleep so we decided to walk the beach.
The scenery really is beautiful- apart from the garbage that litters the sand beaches. Some parts weren't as bad as others.
After a couple hours walking we decided to go back to the hotel, eat some breakfast and come back down to the beach for a swim.
We had the best time surfing the waves and splashing around. Some of these waves were huge, and I was paranoid of being carried out to sea or caught in an undertow. Literally every wave that came I reminded Steve. Ahah we talked about that, and 'trust me he knows'.

I think Steve anticipated a day lazing around on the beach, and maybe not walking for 12 straight hours. Poor guy.
We get back to our hotel, and I notice a petal-bike renting option. I also knew there was a fishing village a little over 20kms away from our hotel.
SO- Steve and I rent two bikes.
Now... The photo of the bike under the rental sign, was a mountain bike- with gears and everything- (keep in mind its very hilly here).
The bikes they came out with were right from the dump.
Literally.
They were covered in rust, and our tires weren't even straight. It looked as though they had tried to hammer Steve's straight as to not make it so warped.
Also- they are fixed gear. Super.

We start biking along, and after an hour or so we hit a spot in the road that overlooks the fishing village. This is the 20km mark they had told us about at the hotel.
I was DETERMINED though to go down to the actual ports to see the fishermen at work.
This is where we added another couple hours onto our trip.
Steve literally couldn't feel his bum. When I finally let him off his rusty old bike, he walked with a sheepish limp.
We never did make it down to the actually port. We got close but were told to turn around. It was kind of a drag.

On our way back to our hotel we stopped at a little coffee shop and have delicious iced coffees. Across the street we got some fresh mangoes, leeches, and mangostins. We gobbled down the fruit- it was so fresh... The best fruit I've ever had.

By the time we made it back, it was dinner time and we were whipped right now. Apart from the crazy biking- the sun drains you of your energy.
We had a yummy meal and went to bed early as per usual.

Chu Chi Tunnels

On our last day in Ho Chi Mihn city, Steve and I decided to go see the famous Chu Chi tunnels.
These tunnels were built in the 40s, but not used until the early 70s as a Vietnamese tool in the war against the US.
There were hundreds of kilometers of tunnels built in preparation and during the war, but only two areas are preserved today (70 km in HCMC area).
The tunnels them self were so cool to see. We actually got to go down inside them and crawl through to 'see what it would have been like during the war'. Minus the mud, bombs being dropped, no food, and overall terrifying circumstance.
The tunnels are classified as either level 1,2, or 3. With each class, the dimensions of the tunnels got smaller and smaller.
We were only allowed in Class 1 tunnels because anything smaller caused to many people to have panic attacks.
They were alright for me, but I'm quite small. Even Steve had a hard time fitting through some spots. The tunnels we went in were 88 cm wide  by 122 cm tall. A tight squeeze indeed.

We had a guided tour through the tunnels and surrounding area. We actually got to walk through the jungle to reach the tunnels  and to see other shelters, and boobie traps that the Vietnamese used in the war.
We even were served the meal Vietnamese soldiers, called gorillas, ate during the war. Boiled tapioca...super yummy.
Not really- it tasted like eating a crayon- a little softer though. Like a waxy potato.

 Our tour guide was really funny- he spoke pretty decent English and was really good at explaining everything to us.  He insisted we call him John Wayne though. Every time he said 'John Wayne' he stuck his tongue out and laughed. It was pretty cute.

The tunnels are located about two hours outside HCMC, and as such we had to take a bus to get there and back. Not a problem at all- although our bus shut off ever 100 meters at which point we had to stop and start it up again. It made for an interesting ride at any rate.

As soon as we made it back to the City, we jumped onto another bus and were on our way to Mui Ne.
This village is  more rural, and less hustle and bustle-y. It's about 4 hours from HCMC.
Manh had booked us a seat with the best bus company- and we were on our way.
The bus was actually really nice. With a few exceptions of course.

First of all- though the drivers are crazy, you don't get anywhere fast. I swear we stopped at every possible gas station and restaurant on our way to Mui Ne. It took us seven hours to get there.
It wouldn't have been THAT BAD- but...
Vietnamese people LOVE karaoke. From the minute we got on the bus, to the moment we arrived in Mui Ne, there was music blaring, disco lights flashing, and all the locals singing along to every song.
For the first 10 minutes it was kind of neat. Seven hours of it was comparable to a bus ride with ten annoying 'jefferys'. You just wanted it to stop.
(You should note that all Vietnamese music is very twangie... Its like a terrible version of classic country, but with classical violin and high pitched whiny singing.. Gasp! I don't need to hear that again.)

We made it to our hotel in one piece and without anything stolen though, so I can't really complain.
Our room at Nam Hai hotel was beautiful- and it was a wonderful end to the day. Apart from our lights not working and the internet only working when our door was open, it was awesome. The view of the South China Sea made up for it.

Second day in Ho Chi Mihn City

On my second full day here in Vietnam, I've figured out what it smells like. FINALLY- and it is something that most everyone can relate to.
You know when you go swimming- say at a public pool, and you bring a plastic bag to put your wet clothes in? Naturally you forget to air that bag of wetness out when you get home, and it sits somewhere in your room- until a week later when you stumble across it.
When you open the bag, you get that warm wet clothes-that have been festering in their own moisture- smell. Bingo!- that's what Vietnam smells like. Its not overly terrible, but aggressive enough to make you feel super grungy after a day walking around. To make matters worse, there seems to be garbage everywhere- which smells awful.
Ho Chi Mihn city actually reminds me a bit of 31 hales (my old Guelph house shared with Alex and Steve) the day I 'moved in'.
I distinctively remember asking Alex if the house was clean- because Christina was subletting from me that summer, and I couldn't have it looking like a mess. He gave me a resounding 'yes!- I cleaned it myself'.
I remember walking into the house and feeling completely hopeless. With mom in the car- I couldn't bare her see the place I was going to live. It was filthy!
The most humorous part about things was that Alex  had attempted to clean up. In fact- he swept. His problem was however, that he didn't have a dust pan... So there were piles of dustbunnies and floor sweepings in all the corners of the house.
Well- Vietnam has this problem too. People attempt to clean the streets and make things look nice, but rather then finishing the job (much like Alex)- they leave their (in this case) piles of garbage in random places along the sidewalks, streets, and outside their houses.
It is almost as though people here do not have pride in the beauty that surrounds them. Visual appearance of anything (buildings, clothing, homes) doesn't seem to be a factor in their day-to-day lives.
They to have beautiful parks though!

The filth factor (FF)  is something I just can't get used to. I feel as though everything I touch is dirty. There is a definitely a 'getting used to things' phase- and I'm not quite there yet.
One thing in particular struck me as odd. I find it so gross- and I know that Mom would agree with me here. In fact every time I see this, I think of her and wonder what her facial expression would be.
Steve doesn't find it that weird... So maybe its just me.
It seems the locals eat and drink everything out of plastics bags- sealed with elastic bands.
Picture the stereotypical goldfish bag, but rather then clean water and a cute orange fish- imagine boiled water, with mushrooms, bok choy, and some type of meat jammed in there all day, until it makes a yellowish type of water colour. Filled right to the brim and tied off with an elastic. After the bag has been baking in the sun all day, then imagine taking it, sucking out the water, and then opening the bag to eat what's inside. Bleck!
I just can't get over how gross it looks. People carry around hundreds of these bags, and sell them on the streets. They hang off the little vendor carts. Its something I will not be purchasing while I'm here.

I've really given Vietnam a bag rep as of now- and that really isn't fair. Overlooking the incessant beeping, rooster coockledoodledooing, dog barking, and filth- there are still some really nice things about this place.
As I mentioned before, the parks are breathtaking. Because it is so hot and humid here, as because it rains so often all the vegetation has a chance to grow to unbelievable heights. The trees here are massive, and each of their leaves are the size of my head. Plus they have flowers galore here. Every colour.
Ho Chi Mihn city does have a lot to offer, and Steve and I have been touring around a lot (by foot- we dare not attempt to ride a scooter in the city!).
Today we went to see the War Museum, Notre Dame Cathedral, the post office, and the reunification palace.
The war museum was very hard to take in. We knew going in that there was going to be some very heavy material to both see and read about. It was worse then we had imagined though. In particular all the information about agent orange was the most bothersome. In the museum they even had real fermented fetuses and babies on display. I couldn't really handle most of it. I was thanking Darwin that Tash wasn't with me. She would have been a heap on the floor.
From there we went to the Notre Dame cathedral. You couldn't actually go inside. But it was beautiful to see. It seemed so out of place though. As if a church from Europe had just been plunked down in the middle of Ho Chi Mihn city. Strange.
Right across the street (and don't forget each street is a near death experience and takes up 15 minutes to cross), was the post office. This is the most huge post office I've ever seen- and it is gorgeous. It looks like a palace from the outside. Inside there are a million booths with people busily working.
The reunification palace was big too- but it was much more modern when compared to the three other venues I had mentioned. Here we weren't allowed to touch anything, and we weren't even really allowed to talk much. It was interesting to see where, historically, many political decisions regarding Vietnam were made.
It was a sweltering 46 degrees on our walk back to our hotel- and our feet were about to fall off. Considering the night before we fell asleep at five and forgot about dinner all together, we vowed we'd make it out tonight.
We ended up going to a little vegetarian place just ten minutes up the street.
To be honest- the food wasn't really that good. We haven't been all that impressed by the Vietnamese cuisine- but hopefully that will change soon.

Blue River II Hotel

After being totally disillusioned from our VISA incident at the border- we were wondering if all of Vietnam was going to be a big scam.
Seeing as our first hotel was nothing to write home about and gave us used shampoo and soap- we figured it could only get better from here.
Wrong.
Everyday you need to shower because you're covered in a thin (questionable) layer of filth.
At this point Steve and I have made it to our next hotel, in the heart of Ho Chi Mihn city. The Blue River II Hotel.
We got the room for 9 dollars a night, so we weren't expecting anything spectacular. The room fit a bed in it (that's about all) but attached was our own bathroom.
'Strap on your slippers Steve, get out our duvet sheet to sleep in, and don't let any part of your body directly touch the floor.'
There are ants everywhere crawling in all the nooks and crannies of this place. Steve picked one up on the bed and I nearly started to cry. After our first day here we have bed bugs?! I was going to pack up and get the hell outta dodge! After a panicked google search we realized they were only ants. By this point ants seems awesome.
Moving on though.

'I'm going to jump in the shower real quick! They even gave us new shampoo and soap this time!'
Five minutes later I call out to Steve... The drain in our shower is clogged, and the water is slowly but surely filling up our bathroom. Wonderful I think.
Poor Steve- I don't know what exactly he was thinking- but it couldn't have been good. We decided to leave it, and go get some breakfast.
The site said our breakfast was included- so that was nice.
The choices were an egg with bread, or noodle soup. I chose noodle soup. Steve chose eggs and bread. Both of our meals came with coffee.
' Could you pass me the sugar Steve?'
Pause...
'Ummm... There's something black in there...'

One million creepy crawly ants. Who needs sugar anyways?
So far blue river hadn't been treating us to well. But then we found it's saving grace.
Manh. The receptionist. He was the absolute cutest man I've ever met. After getting talking to him, suddenly the hotel seemed to have everything you'd need. In fact I'd stay there again.
Manh is the man- he showed us where to go and how to get there. Gave us advice as to how things work in the city- and even booked all our buses and tours for us.
When we checked out on our last day, he even watched our stuff for free- while we went to the Chu Chi tunnels. Such a sweetheart.

Watch our for the SCOOTERS! (Our first day in Ho Chi Mihn City!)

We tired to start our first 'real day' in Vietnam with a clear mindset...trying to put aside the misfortunes ofthe night before.
We woke up (again at around 5) thanks to incessant beeping and rooster cockledoodledooing. The streets were already busy so we decided to venture outside to see what we were missing. One step out the door we almost got struck by a motorcycle (actually more like scooters... But they go really fast).
Ahh- we've discovered what all the beeping was for...beep once means 'I'm coming', beep twice means 'ok I'm even closer', beep three times mean 'GET OUT OF THE WAY!'
From there you can imagine what 4, 5 and 6 beeps mean. Needless to say, we got beeped at about a zillion times. Try having a conversation with someone when after every word you say someone is beeping at you... Gasp. Anyways.
So we attempt to choose somewhere to get something to eat. Nothing brings about your appetite more then watching someone skin a cow in the morning. Yum. We passed that place as fast as you could say 'beep!'.
We finally found this cute little place- it had a little river running through it, and a beautiful canopy of green over top (this helped with the heat (it is over 40 degrees here, and humid as hell to boot!).

I forgot to mention that we were the only white people around- so in the midst of 'beeping' people are seriously rubber necking and taking a good look at us...this added to my already growing fear of getting smoked by a vehicle or scooter.

Anyways- this restaurant was the same way. We chose it because there seemed to be a lot of people there. They were all locals (we thought this must mean there was good food!). We took one step onto the patio and all eyes were on us! It was as though there was a siting: Rachael and Steve, a rare species of human- taller then most other humans here- and white! Oooo aaaaa.

They quickly sat us right in front of the little river, and gave us a menu.
Now- I have no idea how to read Vietnamese- or what half the stuff says. I've figured out what dog is- because its very similar to chien, in french. So Steve and I are trying to decipher what's on this menu, and the funny this is that the waiter is waiting there with us to tell him what we want. We felt like knobs because he waited for a good ten minutes before we ordered a lemonade and strawberry drink. There was NOTHING vegetarian on the menu!
Anyways he whipped up out drinks real fast, and we drank them happily- being watched like animals at the zoo! Very surreal feeling.
We then continued down the street, and found the main road. THIS BLEW MY MIND! There are were literally 2 million people on the road. Yes of course you would assume that on a fairly busy road you could find cars and scooters whipping by- and of course a right and left side of the road...

OH NO! People are driving whatever way they want, where ever they want, beeping their fool heads off. And of course this includes cars, tut tuts, bicycles (!), scooters, buses, and pedestrians. Oh ya... Pedestrians are given the middle of the highways a go at it. I was paralyzed with fear... How was I ever going to get anywhere here?

We tried to stick to the 'sidewalks' and after a couple hours  of walking around looking for some vegetarian food (pronounced toy ahn jay in vietnamese) decided to call it quits and get back to our hotel. At this point Steve and I were doused in our own sweat- mix of course with some nice dirt from the air.

Our hotel had one vegetarian option. Eggs and noodles. As I didn't get any food on the plane- I was starved so I took it happily. HOLY they like their food spicy! After the first bite, my mouth was on fire, my eyes were watering and I was coughing as I wasn't expecting the spice!
After that it was pretty good though.
At any rate I wasn't hungry anymore.

After breakfast we decided to head into the real city 'Ho Chi Mihn'. For this we needed a taxi. I've realized that the best way not to get ripped off is to ask the people at the hotel to help you. This is difficult sometimes because they don't speak much English apart from "thank you", "hello" and "goodbye".

I've adopted a good set of hand gestures to help me portray my questions- these usually get a good laugh out of Steve because I must look like an absolute fool. But hey! They got the picture. So we ended up getting the local fair to get downtown. 7 dollars! Tung- our taxi driver spoke ABSOLUTELY no English. I tried to ask him how to say thank you in Vietnamese, and he thought I was asking him to get out of the car! Whoops! No.
So he drops us off at our hotel... Steve and I look a little skeptical because we can't see it for the life of us. But Tung insists this is where it is, and all we have to do is walk through (that EXTREMELY sketchy looking) tunnel. We ask him to come avec us. And he does. Low and behold there was our hotel (that we got for 9 bucks!).
The tunnel was littered with over 200 scooters, and a restaurant (actually built in a hole in the wall).
We go up the stairs and the reception guy is waiting for us. He is SO nice! He gave us a little map of where to go, and nice vegetarian place to eat... And he spoke a little English! Thinks were looking up for us...

We get upstairs, unload our stuff, and decide to head out. Of course as soon as we step out of the building- a torrential down poor begins, and we are forced back inside. Luckily it only lasted for about a half an hour. So we hit the streets in attempt to find the art museum. Hoopla! We found it! Wonderful. Oh my gosh- 50 cents to enter? We laughed at how inexpensive things like this were.

The art was interesting- but the building it was in was even more so! This place was massive- and everything in it was marble. From the top floor we got a full view of Ho Chi Mihn city. That was pretty neat. Steve and I were talking about it- it looks like a city- but unlike any city we've ever seen. There is still high rises and lots of buildings, but everything is just a little run down.

We continue on to the market- the famous Ben Thanh market. But first to get there.
Let me put things into perspective... We are in the heart of the city. The busiest place in Ho Chi Mihn city. And we need to cross from one side of the street- to the middle of a round about- and then from there to the other side of the street. This means roughly 12 lanes of traffic. Now- there are crosswalks- but no one stops for people to cross. Rather you find the white lines, and simply step out onto the street- hoping that people stop for you. The locals are doing it- what can't we?!

Every time Steve would say 'ok let's go now' I would stand there shaking my head with a resounding 'no'... I didn't fly half way around the world to get squashed by a scooter!

The locals on our side of the road were watching us and laughing- finally they told us with a hand signal to 'go go go'.

Another man who spoke some English told us 'don't worry the vehicles will dodge you'... Perfect.
We step out on the busiest street I've ever seen, and people are dodging us right left and center. Holy smokes! That was adventure enough for me...

We make it to the market. Fhew. As soon as we step in we are bombarded with people asking us to 'buy this, try that, you want?, you like?!'... We didn't buy anything, but we sure left with an experience.

It is so funny. Half the people in this market (selling anything from watches, jewelry, clothing, fruits, veggies, nuts, and flowers) were trying so hard to get you to buy something- and the other half were literally asleep up against their merchandise... I was confused.

We left the market in attempts to find somewhere to eat. Wondering the streets and stumbling across beautiful parks with the biggest trees I've ever seen. We got so absorbed in things going on around us- that we had made it back to our hotel without even knowing it. After six hours of walking our feet were aching- and we decided to go upstairs to our room before dinner. I washed my feet and laid on the bed for 'just a second'.
I woke up 12 hours later.
Now we are off to start our next day! I will keep you posted with our adventures.

We made it to Vietnam...

Now it's May 2nd...Mom, Dad and I wake up at 5:30 am, and are on our way out the door. The day has come, and with no voicemails looming over my head I figure "ok... this is really happening."
At this point I start getting the nervous butterflies...

The three of us take the sunbway to the bus station where Dad would have to say his 'goodbye'. Now the hard part was happening... the 'byes' to the parentals.
Ugh how I hate this part.
There we were in the middle of the Toronto bus station with tears pouring down our faces. I tried my best to pull myself together... but I was hard to get on the bus and wave goodbye. At least Mom would accompany me to the Airport.
We made it there with time to spare, and while waiting for Steve and his Dad to arrive Mom and I had a quick breakie.  Yum Yum.. my last taste of Canadian food for a while.

Once Steve arrived, all that was left to do was get our tickets and make it through customs. Our first flight was only a little over two hours. We would land in Chicago before heading to HongKong.
Saying goodbye to Mom was pretty awful too...and as I waved goodbye from the customs line I was trying to keep it together.
(I knew this wouldn't last).
I made it through security without a problem (surprisingly!) and just like that our trip had officially started. Steve and I were on the plane.

Unfortunately for the people beside me, Steve and I weren't sitting together. As soon as the plane started to move I began to BALL.
I cried for a straight two hours. How great.
Steve kept looking at my from his seat and encouragingly giving my a 'thumbs up'...whimpering I gave him a 'thumbs halfway', and continued to cry.
The man beside me, who was some 80 years old, chose to ignore me and pretend nothing was wrong. I don't blame him.
The women on my other side was scared for my life I think.I don't know what was running through her head, but I am sure it was some crazy story of how I was forced onto the plane.
During the last half-hour of the flight we talked and she assured me that I would have the time of my life on this trip. It definitely helped to calm me down.
We landed without a problem and waiting for our next flight.
15 hours to HongKong... I was NOT looking forward to this one.

Seeing as my flight was cancelled the day before, for this flight they had forgotten to mark me down as a vegetarian, and as such there was no food for my on this flight. I wasn't to phased by this, seeing as I find airplane food quite gross (for lack of a better word).
You don't really know how long 15 hours is though, until you have to sit still for that long. For anyone who knows how much energy I have- you'd also know that its not an easy task for me.

Steve and I slept for maybe an hour... but that's all. When we finally arrived to HongKong we were both exhausted  and faced with a five hour layover, we decided to nap (hugging out belongings of course) for an hour or two.

The HongKong airport is NUTS. This place is like a country of its own with some 500 gates.
It took as an hour just to find out where we left from. But we figured it out.

After an anxious wait, we were finally boarding the flight for the last leg of the trip. A two hour flight from HongKong to Ho Chi Mihn City, Vietnam.

I was seated beside Mrs. Wrinkles. She was amount ten zillion years old, and spoke not a word of English.
When Steve and I tried to get to our seats, she wouldn't even let is through so we literally had to climb over her.
Mrs. Wrinkles proceeded by piling all her bags on me, gesturing that she needed leg room to stretch her knees.
"Fine I thought...she's old... be respectful".

I was so tired, so I laid down on Steve's lap and tried to take a nap. My money bag (hidden underneath my clothes) was just barely peaking out from under my jacket.
I couldn't believe what came next.
Mrs. Wrinkles had found the little part that peaked out, and while Steve and I had our eyes shut, she tried to pull the bag off me. At first I thought it was Steve trying to do something, so I swatted (what I thought his hand to be) off me...But then I realized I was sleeping on his hand...I popped upright into my chair and looked at the old lady. I gestured to her "what?!"... she pointed to my money bag, smiled, and put her hand out...
Was this was all of Vietnam was going to be like? I certainly hoped not.
At this point I couldn't sleep anymore, and rather I was wide awake clutching my belongings.
When we finally landed I was excited to get rid of Mrs. Wrinkles.

Steve and I had booked our Vietnam VISA online, and all the books and webpages we had read assured us that getting our VISA upon arrival at the Airport was no problem. Well isn't that nice for all those lucky people.

It's now one o'clock in the morning, and Steve and I had been traveling for nearly 30 hours. We were exhausted to say the least.
I hand the VISA man the paper we needed to print off and bring, confirming our acceptance for a Vietnamese VISA.  
He runs it through his computer and tells us in broken English: "sorry, you are not in the system....you will have to fly back to Canada now."

I nearly burst into tears, and I am sure that my face expressed my utter shock and disappointment.
"there is NOTHING we can do!? I am sure that I booked a VISA".

Here I thought these guys were being nice, and seeing how tired and upset I was, let me use his computer to check my email for the letter again.
Of course they let me use a Vietnamese computer, and as such I had no idea what anything said, or what I was typing. They watched me, and saw how confused I was...
They then clicked around a little bit and said "see...it's not there..."

Now we were desperate. And just as we thought there was no hope of getting into Vietnam, (I was ready to go back to Canada and never leave)...they turned to us and said:

"for 160$ each, we can let you into Vietnam with a 15 day VISA".
Of course this whole situation was a huge scam, but what were we to do?

We didn't have 320 dollars on us, so they pointed us to an ATM just around the corner.
320 US dollars is equivalent to over 7 million Vietnamese dollars...
We weren't yet used to the conversion rate, and this number seemed so outrageous to us...what other choice did we have though?

We made it through customs (they don't ask you ANY questions), and were completely disillusioned by Vietnam. Our fist impression wasn't good (to say the least).
I was in the most foulest of moods, and so was Steve.
We made it to our hotel (after getting ripped off by the taxi driver too...16 dollars to drive 2.5 kms), and I was SO MAD! (I'll add here that is is one zillion degrees outside)
Once we got up to our room the only nice part about it was that there was AC...other then then, they gave us used sheets, used soap, and used shampoo. How lovely.

I quickly checked my email and low and behold our acceptance VISA letter was right there.
It was a bad start to the trip, that much I can say...We hoped that the next day would be better...

Right when we think we're leaving...

Seeing as we had now moved our appointment to the following day- we assumed that we could now have a smooth departure.
Dukie and Barbara had kindly agreed to let us stay at their house on the night of the 29th (the night before Steve and I were supposed to leave).
Mom and I had packed MidC into Rex- and we were on the road by 9:00 am. Our plan was to drop MidC off at Christina's house, and then meet Steve and Dad in Guelph for our vaccine appointment.

This portion of the trip went smoothly. MidC meowed the whole way to Christina's (I like to think this is because she knew I was leaving)...and Mom and I were BOILING in Steve's car which had no AC...therefore the windows were wide-open the entire way.
And cue my first set of tears...
Of course dropping MidC off at Christina's was emotional...and so too was saying goodbye to literally the best roommate ever...(Christina... I miss you!).
I knew this had to happen though.

We made to Guelph on time, and got everything in order. After the vaccine, Mom, Dad, Ceilidh and I enjoyed a delicious dinner in the Guelph Arboretum and after saying goodbye to Ceilidh we made our way to Duke and Barbara's. It was SO nice to see them.. and it was an extra special treat to see Alex and Conal too before I left.
After some soup, salad, wine and cheese we went to bed...ready for an early morning and departure the next day.
As many if you know Steve and I had planned to depart for Vietnam May 1st...we had our flights all booked, and we were ready to go by 7:30 that morning...I had woken of up with the strangest feeling though...not the nerves that I was used to when faced with airplane rides...
Though I was sure the 'travel curse' was upon me, everyone had assured me that things would go as planned.
This is when I got 'the call'.
I had taken a shower and saw a voice mail awaiting me in my room...innocently enough I checked it, and what did you know...my flight was canceled.  How wonderful (and of course it was the ONLY one that morning...).

Now you see... I am used to this kind of news...so I wasn't ALL that phased and certainly wasn't 'shocked' by any means. 
When I came into the kitchen to give everyone else the news they laughed at my 'funny joke'...once they realized I wasn't kidding... it wasn't so funny, and more aggravating that somehow my flights always seem to be canceled.

The worst part was telling Steve...poor Steve who was the most pumped to leave that morning. I pictured him through the phone... his mega smile turning in to a face of utter shock when realizing himself that I wasn't joking.

Alas we would depart the next morning. Things weren't THAT BAD.
In fact I think it was fate that my flight was canceled.
In the madness of the truck not starting the day before, I hadn't been able to say goobye to Tash. Something that sat terribly with me. This way Mom, Dad, and I would be able to make our way to Toronto and have a nice dinner with her.
Dad had to go to the Dental convention the next morning and as such he had a room booked at the Four Season. SO FANCY PANTS!

People literally must laugh at us where ever we go. We roll up to the hotel at get out of the car, amidst women is pretty dresses and high-healed shoes and men is expensive suits. I am lugging around a giant pack, Mom is in her usual jeans and T, and Dad is sporting hiking boots with holes in them and a dry-sack as luggage.
The door-man asked "are you with the Four Seasons?"... and with a 'yes' from us, we trugged in and made it to our room.
It was fancy to say the least. The beds were SO SOFT! At least I knew I would get a goodnights sleep before the big departure.

We met up with Tash for dinner at the most delicious Thai restaurant, and my friend Amanda (who is also traveling to South East Asia) met us aswell.
We had the absolutely best dinner, and Tash introduced us to Allan (the owner of the restaurant), who was building a village in Thailand and  began to organize our visit there. This all seemed so crazy. Within an hour we had a driver coming to pick us up and take us to the most beautiful parts of Thailand...it seemed so surreal...I hope it all pans out.

After saying some more 'goodbyes' it was bedtime. The parentals and Tash had figured out a route that Mom and I could take to the Airport the next morning, which meant we didn't have to take the car and pay obscene amounts for parking. I was nervous but excited to leave.

Xin Chao!

We've finally made itto Veitnam... so I am allowed to say "Xin Chao" now!
For any of those still wondering, that's how you say 'hello' here.

Of course, knowing me and my travel luck, it was not easy getting here... and to tell you the full story I will have to start a couple of days before Steve and I were scheduled to leave (May 1st).

You see, I am graduating this summer, and as such I needed to get all my Guelph belongings back to Kingston before the big trip. I had packed up 335 Gordon with Christina and Steve well before our departure, but I had no way of getting all my crap to Kingston. Kindly, Steve offered (...kinda...) to drive it down for me on the 27th of April. Perfect!

I had already packed Rex (Steve's car) to the brim with stuff and made my way to Kingston a week before. Mom, Dad, Maddi and I had driven down to Baba and Grandpa's to meet up with Kiki, Dora, and Uncle Andy to celebrate Baba's birthday, and I was in a mad rush to make it back to Kingston to meet Steve when he got to Kingston with a truck and trailer full of all my belongings.
Of course packing took longer then expected and there was traffic to boot, so Steve was so late getting in. It was pitch black when he finally arrived (10:30) and we had no time to unpack so we left it for the next morning.
I didn't know I had so much stuff. HOLY!

Unpacking was fine, and seeing as there was already a truck and trailer in Kingston, Tash had asked me if perhaps we could pack up her friends house (Enis) and drop him and his stuff off in Torontoon our way back to Guelph. He is moving in with Tash for the summer (exciting!). Of course Steve and I said yes.
BUT...we had an appointment in Guelph on the 29th at 3:00 that we absolutely couldn't miss...we were getting our last vaccine for the trip.

On the afternoon of the 28th, the fam and I met up with the most fabulous group of people for an awesome game of road hockey, after which Steve and I zipped over to Enis's house to start loading the trailer. That went smoothly enough, and after an awesome 'last day' in Kingston we called it quits and went to bed early. After all we had to be up super early to hit the road...Our plan was to pick Enis up downtown and finish packing his stuff all by 9 o'clock so we could make it back to Guelph for our appointment.

Of course when we woke up in the morning it was raining...and I wish I could say that this was the most of our troubles....unfortunately that wasn't so.
Steve and I go outside to prep the truck and of course it won't start. I was already so disappointed and was convinced that 'the curse' (as I like to call it) had commenced. Steve and Mom told me 'not to think like that'...all I could think was "just you wait"...
Of course it was mom to the rescue, or should I say Goal Patrol.
Brupp brupp brupp bruppppp....there comes the Millennium Bus rolling down the driveway. We get Steve's truck started with a Millennium Goal boost (by this time we are 2 hours late to get Enis) and are on our way...
There was NO WAY that we were making it back to Guelph in time for our appointment, so I had agreed to stay in Kingston another night, and meet Steve in Guelph the following day (secretly I was happy that this happened!).

So I follow Steve into town to help with the packing.
As soon as we get to Enis's house, Steve shuts the truck of, and of course it won't start AGAIN! So we decided to do all the packing, and get someone to jump us when we were done.
I'll never get the picture of Enis delicately packing his Prada shirts into the back of Steve's dirty work truck. To this day I am sure Enis thinks I am nuts.

Anyways, after we were done packing, we flagged down Enis's landlord and asked him for a jump. Of course that didn't work. So now we had to brainstorm how to 'fix the truck'...let me assure you- none of us are mechanics.
We did notice however that there was a bit of water in the fuse box...and we were convinced that this was our problem. This time it was Enis to the rescue.
Out he comes from his now (almost) empty apartment with Q-tips and a hair dryer... this is how we would attempt to 'fix' the truck. I can only imagine how we looked to the passer-byer... ABSOLUTELY NUTS.
There we were... three grown people huddled around this massive truck with a hair dryer...literally drying the fuse box as it poured rain around us.
By some stroke of luck, once we were 'done'... the truck started with aid from a boost, and Steve and Enis were on their way.
It took Steve seven hours to get home...and he said by the time he made it to Orangeville every light in the truck was flashing at him. It is  miracle it didn't explode while barreling down the highway.
It took his Dad less then an hour to fix the real problem... which had absolutely nothing to do with the fuse box... go figure.
Here we thought was the only set-back in our travel plans...